Area Players Named To TSWA Class 1A All-State Team

BRYAN, TX (July 5, 2011) -- Goldthwaite third baseman Joe Perez and Dawson second baseman Slade Chasteen were selected to the Texas Sports Writers Associations Class A All-State Baseball Team.

Perez earned first team honors, while Chasteen collected second team accolades.

Johnson City pitcher Laramie Blackwell was voted the player of the year. He was 10-2 on the mound and the senior, who played third base when not pitching, batted .420 with 58 runs batted in.

Here is the Texas Sports Writers Association's Class A All-State Baseball

Pitchers -Gunner Baker, Carlisle, soph.; Laramie Blackwell,
Johnson City, sr.; (tie) Andrew Groseclose, Port Aransas, jr.; and
Jimmy Johnson, Cayuga, sr.
Catcher - Charles Deckard, Blue Ridge, sr.
First baseman - Conner Bertsch, Fayetteville, jr.
Second baseman -Tyler Pate, Port Aransas, soph.
Shortstop - Lucas Neely, Johnson City, sr.
Third baseman - Joe Perez, Goldthwaite, jr.
Outfielders - Zack Gidney, Blue Ridge, sr.; Justin Reyna,
Crosbyton, sr.; Kris McDonald, Johnson City, sr.
DH - Gunnar Thompson, Cayuga, sr.
Player of the Year - Blackwell, Johnson City.
Coach of the Year - Randy Rutherford, Johnson City.

Pitchers - Tye McKinney, Blue Ridge, sr.; Mickey Villanueva,
Stamford, sr.; (tie) Kaleb Keith, D'Hanis, jr.; Kody Robinson, New
Deal, sr.; and Zack Gidney, Blue Ridge, sr.
Catcher - (tie) Brayden Phillips, Clarendon, sr., and Rhett
Gresham, Alto, sr.
First baseman - Gilbert Garcia, Ben Bolt, sr.
Second baseman - Slade Chasteen, Dawson, jr.
Shortstop - Johnny Gaines, Clarendon, sr.
Third baseman - Alex Groseclose, Port Aransas, jr.
Outfielders - Strait Daniel, Winters, jr.; Kyle Tomlinson,
Hamlin, sr., Chris Acosta, Stamford, sr.
DH - Marty Jentsch, Archer City, jr.

Pitchers - Joey Gamez, Shiner, sr.; Isaac Chavez-Ward, New Deal,
sr.; (tie) Cody Bates, Hamlin, sr. and Austin McCasland, Overton,
Catcher - Michael Medina, Crosbyton, sr.
First baseman - Kaleb Keith, D'Hanis, jr.
Second baseman - Shawn McCarley, Blue Ridge, jr.
Shortstop - Branson Ponder, Hamlin, sr.
Third baseman - (tie) Coy Boedeker, Shiner, sr.and Weston
Wuthrich, Archer City, jr.
Outfielders - Nathan Burkhalter, Garrison, jr.; Andres Alaniz,
Ben Bolt, jr.; Canyon Cockrum, North Hopkins, sr.
DH - Brad Estes, Shelbyville, sr.

KWTX-TV News 10 6700 American Plaza Waco, Texas 76712 (254) 776-1330 Fax (254) 751-1088
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 125049094 -
Gray Television, Inc.