Two Midway Players Named To TSWA 4A All-State Squad

Bryan, TX (July 8, 2011) -- Midway pitcher Matt Kent and second baseman Kramer Robertson were selected to the second team of the Texas Sports Writers Association 4A All-State Team. Kent, a Texas A&M signee, threw three no-hitters this season, going 10-2 on the mound. Robertson hit .463 with 6 home runs this season for the Panthers.

Wichita Falls Rider pitcher Cameron Allen was named Player of the Year by the TSWA. Raiders head coach Scot Green earned Coach of the Year honors.

Here is the 2011 TSWA All-State team selections:

Pitchers -- Cameron Allen, Wichita Falls Rider, sr. (4A Player of the Year); Armando Arrevelo, Calallen, jr.; Chad Young, Mesquite Poteet, sr.
Catcher -- Gage Green, WF Rider, sr.
First baseman -- Jake Thompson, Rockall-Heath, jr.
Second baseman -- Justin Wingfield, Hallsville, sr.
Shortstop -- (tie) Wyatt Mathisen, Calallen, jr. and Blake Allemand, Boerne
Champion, sr.
Third baseman -- Anthony Hermelyn, McKinney, jr.
Outfielders -- Jake Howeth, Highland Park, sr.; Matt Hilston, Smithson
Valley, sr.; (tie) Patrick Dorsey, Calallen, soph. and Ryan O'Hearn, Frisco
Wakeland, sr.
Utility -- Willie Schwanke, Frisco Wakeland, sr. and Matt Danton, Willis, sr.
Coach of the Year -- Scot Green, WF Rider

Pitchers -- Ty Schlottmann, Brenham, sr.; Ben Smith, WF Rider, sr.; Matthew
Kent, Midway, sr.
Catcher -- (tie) Matt Durst, Whitehouse, sr. and Tanner Hill, New Braunfels
Canyon, jr.
First baseman -- Dirk Masters, Angleton, sr.
Second baseman -- Kramer Robertson, Midway, soph.
Shortstop -- Ronnie Gideon, Hallsville, soph.
Third baseman -- Hunter Melton, Corsicana, jr.
Outfielders -- Brandon Finnegan, FW Southwest, sr.; Logan Curtis, Victoria
East, sr.; (tie) Michael Clements, Floresville, sr. and Aaron DeLaPaz,
Crowley, sr.
Utility -- Travis Duke, Pearland Dawson, jr.

Pitchers -- Jovan Hernandez, Rockwall-Heath, jr.; Blake Griffin, Mesquite
Poteet, sr.; Travis Duke, Pearland Dawson, jr.
Catcher -- Matt Ditman, Lamar Consolidated, sr.
First baseman -- (tie) Tanner Vandevere, Calallen, sr. and Levi Scott,
Burleson, sr.
Second baseman -- Kevin Hull, Creekview, jr.
Shortstop -- (tie) Derek Odell, Canyon, sr. and Drake Roberts, Brenham, sr.
Third baseman -- Willie Schwanke, Frisco Wakeland, jr.
Outfielders -- Dylan Ebbs, Santa Fe, soph.; Grant Gibbs, Lake Travis, sr.;
Stephen Smith, Frenship, soph.
Utility -- Keith Brenner, Pine Tree, sr.

KWTX-TV News 10 6700 American Plaza Waco, Texas 76712 (254) 776-1330 Fax (254) 751-1088
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 125254464 -
Gray Television, Inc.