KWTX - 254Sports High School - Headlines

West's Carpenter Tabbed TSWA 3A Co-Player Of The Year

BRYAN (July 25, 2012) -- Pleasant Grove's Timothy Buchanan and West's Kolbey Carpenter shared player of the year honors on the 58th Annual Texas Sports Writers Association Class 3A All-State Baseball Team.

The team selections were announced Wednesday.

Buchanan, a senior left-hander, was 14-1 in leading Pleasant Grove to the state title. Carpenter, who signed with Oklahoma, had 14 home runs and also was 11-1 pitching. He had a 3A state record 48 career home runs.


Pitchers - Timothy Buchanan, Pleasant Grove, sr.; Weston Wick, La Grange, sr.; and Chad Hollingsworth, Robinson, sr.

Catcher - Corey Simpson, Sweeny, jr.

First baseman - Austin Boyd, Sweeny, jr.

Second baseman - Matthew Flores, Lubbock Estacado, jr.

Shortstop - John Eagleton, Carrollton Ranchview, sr.

Third baseman - Hunter Spear, Lubbock Cooper, sr.

Outfielders - Lucas Wacha, Pleasant Grove, sr.; Austin Aune, Argyle, sr.; and Jordan Coaliron, Splendora, sr.

Utility - P/SS Kolbey Carpenter, West, sr.

Designated hitter - Joey Gammon, Lucas Lovejoy, sr.

Player of the Year - (tie) Timothy Buchanan, Pleasant Grove, sr. and Kolbey Carpenter, West, sr.

Coach of the Year - Craig Jones, Pleasant Grove


Pitchers - Roman Brown, Pleasant Grove, sr.; Tayln Cellucci, Longview Spring Hill, sr.; and Kaylor Chafin, Sweeny, jr.

Catcher - (tie) Brice Lauer, Yoakum, sr. and Tanner DeVinney, Lucas Lovejoy, jr.

First baseman - K.J. Hurn, Levelland, sr.

Second baseman - Parker Mason, Farmersville, soph.

Shortstop - Zach Michener, Kennedale, jr.

Third baseman - (tie) Maxon Paxton, West, sr. and Dalton D'Spain, Boerne, sr.

Outfielders - Tony Reyes, Levelland, sr.; Derrick Sullivan, West Oso, soph.; and (tie) Logan Goebel, Cuero, jr. and Ethan Brinkley, Rockdale, jr.

Utility - P/SS Scotland Church, Lubbock Cooper, jr.

Designated hitter - Michael Carrasco, Pecos, jr.


Pitchers -Clint Cage, Carthage, sr.; Derrick Griffin, Farmersville, sr. and Jordan Boothe, Cuero, sr.

Catcher - (tie) Caleb Koedyker, Seminole, sr.and Brandon Davis, Snyder, jr.

First baseman - (tie) Austin Hambrick, Celina, sr. and Jesus Salgado, Pecos, sr.

Second baseman - Austin Gibson, Rockport Fulton, sr.

Shortstop - (tie) Melvin Gray, Pleasant Grove, sr. and Austin Kimble, Lufkin Hudson, sr.

Third baseman - (tie) Jordan Boothe, Cuero, sr. and Tyler Webb, Prosper, soph.

Outfielders - Byron Allen, Mineral Wells, sr.; Travis Johnson, Sweeny, sr.; and Luke McGuire, Pleasant Grove, sr.

Utility - P/SS Hunter Abbe, Robinson, sr.

Designated hitter - John Lauve, Abilene Wylie, jr.

KWTX-TV News 10 6700 American Plaza Waco, Texas 76712 (254) 776-1330 Fax (254) 751-1088
Gray Television, Inc. - Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 163799906 -