ASC Women's Tournament Bracket Released

RICHARDSON (February 18, 2013) -- Howard Payne won the American Southwest Conference West Division title with a 16-3 league record and earned the right to host the 2013 ASC Women’s Basketball Championship Tournament, to be held Feb. 22-24 at Brownwood Coliseum in Brownwood, Texas.

The entire eight-team, single elimination event – being played for a 15th-straight year – will be available for fans to watch online for free. All links – including those to live stats, radio broadcasts, box scores, game recaps, bracket, photos and post-game interviews – can be found on the conference’s Tournament Central page and Howard Payne’s athletic website.

Howard Payne (21-4) and head coach Josh Prock, who won the West Division title for the fourth time in seven years, will begin play at 7:30 p.m. Friday against East Division No. 4 seed East Texas Baptist (16-9). HPU, winners of 15 of its last 17 games, has hoisted five league trophies – including every time it has hosted the conference event (2007, 2009 and 2011). ETBU returns to the ASC tournament after a two-year absence.

Louisiana College (22-3) and head coach Jason Tinsley enter as victors of the East Division for the fourth straight season. The Lady Wildcats went 17-2 in league play with both of their losses coming in overtime.
LC, which leads the nation in scoring at 87.6 points per game, begins its quest for a second conference title Friday when it tips off in the first quarterfinal at noon against the West Division’s No. 4 seed, Mary Hardin-Baylor (8-16). UMHB is back in the event after missing last year.

Defending conference champion Concordia Texas (17-8) enters as the West No. 2 seed and will open play at 2:30 p.m. Friday against the East’s No.
3 seed, Texas-Tyler (17-8). CTX, which had not won an ASC tournament game before last year, is making back-to-back appearances in the event for the first time in program history. UT Tyler is in the event for the first time since 2009.

Texas-Dallas (17-8) is the East’s No. 2 seed and at 5 p.m. Friday will take on West No. 3 seed Hardin-Simmons (13-12). UTD has put together seven straight appearances in the ASC tournament after never having qualified before that. HSU has won a record six conference titles
(1999-2004) and is the only team to have qualified every year.

The semifinals are scheduled to tip off Saturday at 2 p.m. (LC-UMHB winner vs. CTX-UT TYLER winner) and 4:30 p.m. (UTD-HSU winner vs.
HPU-ETBU winner), with the championship game coming Sunday at 2 p.m.

The ASC tournament winner earns an automatic berth in the NCAA Division III Women’s Basketball Championship.

2013 ASC WOMEN’S BASKETBALL CHAMPIONSHIP TOURNAMENT SCHEDULE -Hosted by Howard Payne University / Brownwood, Texas / Brownwood

Friday, February 22
Game 1: [E1] Louisiana College (22-3) vs. [W4] Mary Hardin-Baylor (8-16), Noon Game 2: [W2] Concordia Texas (17-8) vs. [E3] Texas-Tyler (17-8), 2:30 p.m.
Game 3: [E2] Texas-Dallas (17-8) vs. [W3] Hardin-Simmons (13-12), 5 p.m.
Game 4: [W1] Howard Payne (21-4) vs. [E4] East Texas Baptist (16-9), 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, February 23
Game 5: Game 1 winner vs. Game 2 winner, 2 p.m.
Game 6: Game 3 winner vs. Game 4 winner, 4:30 p.m.
Sunday, February 24
Game 7: Semifinal winners, 2 p.m.

KWTX-TV News 10 6700 American Plaza Waco, Texas 76712 (254) 776-1330 Fax (254) 751-1088
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 191766701 -
Gray Television, Inc.