Aggies Bone Named To SEC Women's 1st Team

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (March 5, 2013) -- Tennessee's Holly Warlick is the Southeastern Conference coach of the year after replacing Pat Summitt and leading the Lady Vols to a league regular-season title in her inaugural season, league officials announced Tuesday.

Kentucky's A'dia Mathies and Tennessee's Meighan Simmons are co-players of the year. Tennessee forward Bashaara Graves was selected freshman of the year. South Carolina's Ieasia Walker was named defensive player of the year. Arkansas' Sarah Watkins and Missouri's Morgan Eye shared the 6th Woman of the Year award. Auburn's Blanche Alverson was named the conference's scholar-athlete of the year.

Awards and all-conference teams were chosen by the league's 14 coaches.

First-team all-conference picks included Mathies, Simmons, Graves and Walker plus Georgia's Jasmine Hassell, Kentucky's DeNesha Stallworth, LSU's Theresa Plaisance, Texas A&M's Kelsey Bone and Vanderbilt's Tiffany Clarke.

KWTX-TV News 10 6700 American Plaza Waco, Texas 76712 (254) 776-1330 Fax (254) 751-1088
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 195456341 -
Gray Television, Inc.