Baylor Football’s Don Trull Inducted Into College Football Hall of Fame

More Video...

(December 10, 2013) Former Baylor standout quarterback Don Trull has been inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame on Tuesday at the 56th National Football Foundation’s (NFF) Annual Awards Dinner at the Waldorf Astoria in New York City.

Along with Trull, the 2013 College Football Hall of Famers are: Ted Brown (North Carolina State), Tedy Bruschi (Arizona), Ron Dayne (Wisconsin), Tommie Frazier (Nebraska), Jerry Gray (Texas), Steve Meilinger (Kentucky), Orlando Pace (Ohio State), Rod Shoate (Oklahoma), Percy Snow (Michigan State), Vinny Testaverde (Miami, Fla.), Danny Wuerffel (Florida), and coaches Wayne Hardin (Navy, Temple) and Bill McCartney (Colorado).

Trull starred with the Bears from 1961-63, leaving an indelible mark on the Baylor record books as he passed for more than 4,000 yards and 27 touchdowns during his career.

A 1963 First-Team All-American and First-Team All-Southwest Conference selection, Trull led the nation in touchdowns and passing yards his senior season. He was a two-time winner of the Sammy Baugh Award for leading the country in completions (1962, 1963), and he finished fourth in Heisman Trophy voting as a senior. A trailblazer on the field and off, Trull became Baylor's first two-time First-Team Academic All-American honoree in 1962 and 1963 as well as the school's first NFF National Scholar-Athlete (1963). Trull led the Bears to the 1961 Gotham Bowl and the 1963 Bluebonnet Bowl under coach John Bridgers.

The Oklahoma City native enjoyed an eight-year career in the professional ranks, playing for the Houston Oilers and Boston Patriots as well as the CFL's Edmonton Eskimos. Following his playing days, he served as an assistant coach at Arkansas from 1972-74.

Trull is the 2013 president-elect for the NFF Touchdown Club of Houston Chapter. His many other roles include NFL Alumni Director, vice chairman of the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo and a member of the Fort Bend County Water Board of Directors. Trull is a Baylor Hall of Fame inductee, and he was named to the school's all-decade team.

Trull becomes the seventh Baylor player to be inducted, joining Larry Elkins (1962-64), Thomas Everett (1983-86), Bill Glass (1954-56), Barton Koch (1928-30), Mike Singletary (1977-80) and Jim Ray Smith (1952-54). Two coaches with stops in Waco are in the hall: Morley Jennings (1926-40) and Grant Teaff (1972-92).

KWTX-TV News 10 6700 American Plaza Waco, Texas 76712 (254) 776-1330 Fax (254) 751-1088
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 235334681 -
Gray Television, Inc.