Baylor Women's Tennis Earns Top Seed in Big 12 Tournament

(April 19, 2014) The Big 12 Conference has announced the women's pairings for the 2014 Big 12 Tennis Championships held at the Bayard H. Friedman Tennis Center in Fort Worth, Texas. Women's action gets underway on Thursday, April 24.

Baylor capped off a perfect 9-0 record in conference play with a win over Texas on Friday night in Austin to secure the top seed. Blair Shankle won a third-set tiebreaker to propel the 14th-ranked Bears to the 4-3 victory over the Longhorns in what will be the final match played at Texas' Penick-Allison Tennis Center. BU has now won 10 Big 12 regular season titles including eight in the last nine years.

The Oklahoma State Cowgirls earned the No. 2 seed after completing conference play at 7-2. OSU closed the regular season with a narrow 3-4 loss to Oklahoma on April 19. The Cowgirl’s only other conference loss came to Baylor on April 11.

Oklahoma, Texas and Texas Tech finished in a three-way tie for third as each team finished conference play with a record of 6-3. Texas earned the three seed based on point totals among the three teams.

The Lady Raiders earned the No. 4 spot while the Sooners took the fifth seed.

Host TCU holds the No. 6 seed while Kansas State, Kansas, Iowa State and West Virginia are seeded seven through 10 respectively.
Previous title winners at the women’s championship include Texas, which has notched nine postseason titles (1997-2002, 2005, 2012-2013), while Baylor has won six (2006-’11) and Oklahoma State has one (2003).

Match times will be announced on Monday, April 21, on

The winner of the Big 12 postseason event will punch an automatic ticket to the NCAA Championships in May.
1. Baylor^
2. Oklahoma State
3. Texas
4. Texas Tech
5. Oklahoma
6. TCU
7. Kansas State
8. Kansas
9. Iowa State
10. West Virginia

KWTX-TV News 10 6700 American Plaza Waco, Texas 76712 (254) 776-1330 Fax (254) 751-1088
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 255890861 -
Gray Television, Inc.