Baylor Track's White Wins Shot Put at Texas Relays

AUSTIN (March 31, 2012) – Junior Skylar White collected the lone victory of the day with a shot put title at the Texas Relays on Saturday at Mike A. Myers Stadium in Austin, Texas.

“It was a typical Texas Relays, lots ups and downs and lots in-between,” head coach Todd Harbour said. “We are really proud of the way our team competed. Skylar (White) did a fantastic job in the shot put, she’s just been so consistent for us. You never like to lose in the 4x4 or see an athlete like Woody (Randall) go down with an injury, but all-in-all we had a really solid weekend.”

White, who entered the meet ranked fifth in the NCAA, moved up one spot with a season-best toss of 55 feet, 5.75 inches to take the meet title. The junior was in second after the first three tosses, but moved into the lead on her fourth throw of 54-10.75 and then added seven more inches on her fifth throw to put the competition out of reach. White’s win was Baylor’s first-ever Texas Relays title in the event.

In the men’s 4x400-meter relay, the Bears squad of Justin Allen, Blake Heriot, James Gilreath and Zwede Hewitt lost a close battle with LSU to finish second with a time of 3:04.67. Baylor and LSU managed to get to the front of the pack as Texas A&M dropped out to injury and USC mishandled an exchange. Hewitt, BU’s anchor runner, took the baton in second, but sped into first around the opening curve. As the teams stayed within a half-stride of each other, it was LSU’s Ryker Hilton that won the footrace down the homestretch to give his team the win.

Baylor’s sprint relays had another solid day with core trio of Woodrow Randall, Whitney Prevost and Everett Walker each running on the 4x100 and 4x200-meter relays. The group was joined by Zwede Hewitt to battle the special Invitational section for third place with a time of 39.44 out of Lane 1. In the 4x200, Blake Heriot rounded out the group that placed second overall at 1:21.76, the eighth-fastest time in program history.

In the distance medley relays, both teams posted top-four finishes with the men’s crew taking third. The team of Gavyn Nero, Joe Barb, Drew Seale and

Individually, sophomore Tiffani McReynolds set her season-best in the 100 hurdles, placing second overall with a time of 12.97 to rank second in the NCAA this season.

In the 400-meter hurdles, Baylor picked up a pair of fourth-place finishes. For the women, junior Christina Holland bettered her personal record from Thursday with a time of 57.69, a top-10 time nationally. On the men’s side, sophomore Gabriel El Hanbli lowered his season-best to 51.39, a top-15 time nationally.

Walker and Randall also took to the track again in the men’s 100 meters, but with varying results. Walker sprinted the homestretch in a fourth-place time of 10.27, but Randall suffered a cramp with 30 meters left and came in seventh.

Baylor’s distance crew will be the only team members in action next weekend, traveling to the west coast for the Stanford Invitational on April 6-7 in Stanford, Calif.


100 Meters


4. Everett Walker (JR) – 10.27

7. Woodrow Randall (SR) – 11.88

100 Hurdles


2. Tiffani McReynolds (SO) – 12.97 (Ranks No. 2 in NCAA)

400 Hurdles


4. Christina Holland (JR) – 57.69 (Career best; Ranks top 10 in NCAA)


4. Gabriel El Hanbli (SO) – 51.39 (Ranks top 15 in NCAA)

4x100-Meter Relay

Men – Invitational Section

3. Baylor (Randall, Prevost, Walker, Hewitt) – 39.44

4x200-Meter Relay


2. Baylor (Randall, Prevost, Heriot, Walker) – 1:21.76 (Eighth-fastest all-time at Baylor)

4x400-Meter Relay


9. Baylor (Rhone, Nichols, Omogiate, Richardson) – 3:39.18


2. Baylor (Allen, Heriot, Gilreath, Hewitt) – 3:04.67 (Season best)

Distance Medley Relay


4. Baylor (Johnson, Nwachukwu, Kelly, Westenhover – 11:28.55 (Ninth-fastest all-time at Baylor)


3. Baylor (Nero, Barb, Seale, Schoenball) – 9:44.17 (Ninth-fastest all-time at Baylor)

Shot Put


1. Skylar White (JR) – 55-5.75 [16.91m] (Season best)

KWTX-TV News 10 6700 American Plaza Waco, Texas 76712 (254) 776-1330 Fax (254) 751-1088
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 145449735 -
Gray Television, Inc.