Baylor’s Jackson Named To Naismith Award Watch List

ATLANTA (November 13, 2012) -- Baylor senior All-American point guard Pierre Jackson has been named to the 2012-13 Naismith early season watch list, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced Tuesday.

Jackson is one of 50 student-athletes on the watch list for the Naismith Men’s College Player of the Year. The 50-player watch list was compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s Board of Selectors, which based its criteria on player performances from the previous year and expectations for the 2012-13 season.

Jackson, the 2012-13 Big 12 Conference Preseason Player of the Year and a member of the Wooden Award Preseason Top 50, led Baylor with 13.8 points, 5.9 assists and 1.8 steals per game in his debut season in Waco last year. His 223 assists were the second-highest single-season total in program history, and he posted double-figure points in 27 of 38 games, including an average of 17.6 points per game in the last eight contests.

A Las Vegas, Nev., native, Jackson led Baylor to a pair of wins on the season’s opening weekend. He had 14 points and 12 assists for his sixth career double-double in Friday’s 99-77 win over Lehigh, and he led all scorers with 25 points and seven assists in Sunday’s 78-47 win against Jackson State.

Jackson is one of five Big 12 players on the watch list, including Kansas State’s Rodney McGruder, Kansas’ Ben McLemore and Jeff Withey and Oklahoma State’s Marcus Smart.

A mid-season team of the top 30 players nationally will be announced in late February, and in March the Naismith Trophy voting academy will narrow the list to four finalists.

No. 16/17 Baylor returns to action on Thursday in the opening round of the ESPN Charleston Classic at Carolina First Arena in Charleston, S.C. The Bears open tournament play against Boston College at 2 p.m. CT on ESPNU, and then Baylor takes on either Dayton or Colorado at 11:30 a.m. or 1:30 p.m. Friday on ESPNU.

KWTX-TV News 10 6700 American Plaza Waco, Texas 76712 (254) 776-1330 Fax (254) 751-1088
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 179181431 -
Gray Television, Inc.