Baylor's Jackson Named a Cousy Watch List Finalist

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. (January 10, 2013) -- Baylor men’s basketball senior Pierre Jackson has been selected as one of 20 watch list finalists for the 2013 Bob Cousy Collegiate Point Guard of the Year Award, as announced by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Thursday.

The annual honor, named for Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic Bob Cousy, recognizes the top point guards in men’s college basketball. Jackson was one of 85 players on the initial watch list, and he’s one of two Big 12 Conference players on the final watch list of 20 players.

A Las Vegas, Nev., native, Jackson leads the Big 12 and ranks 21st nationally with 19.8 points per game, and he ranks second in the Big 12 and 19th nationally with 6.3 assists per game. He’s the nation’s only player ranked in the top 25 in scoring and assists per game.

Jackson has the Big 12 Conference’s longest active streak with 22 consecutive games scoring in double figures, averaging 18.9 points and 6.3 assists per game during the streak. His active streak of 26 consecutive games with at least one three-point field goal made is the fifth-longest streak in Baylor history.

Jackson was one of 11 finalists for the award in his debut season in Waco last year. He’s one of four 2012 finalists returning as members of the 20-man watch list in 2013, joining Phil Pressey (Missouri), Isaiah Canaan (Murray State), Aaron Craft (Ohio State).

The watch list of candidates will be narrowed down to a final 10 in early February, and final five will be selected in early March. A selection committee has been appointed by the Hall of Fame to review the final five candidates in contention for the nation’s top collegiate point guard award. The winner of the 2013 Bob Cousy Award will be presented at the Hall of Fame’s Class Announcement on Championship Monday in Atlanta as part of NCAA Final Four weekend.

Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award have included Jameer Nelson (St. Joseph’s), Raymond Felton (North Carolina), Dee Brown (Illinois), Acie Law (Texas A & M), DJ Augustin (Texas), Ty Lawson (North Carolina), Greivis Vasquez (Maryland), Kemba Walker (Connecticut) and last year’s recipient Kendall Marshall (North Carolina). For more information on the 2013 Bob Cousy, log onto

2013 Bob Cousy Award Candidates

Jahii Carson, Arizona State

Pierre Jackson, Baylor

Quinn Cook, Duke

Kevin Pangos, Gonzaga

Keith Appling, Michigan State

Isaiah Canaan, Murray State

Kendall Williams, New Mexico

Lorenzo Brown, North Carolina State

Aaron Craft, Ohio State

D.J. Cooper, Ohio

Marcus Smart, Oklahoma State

Nate Wolters, South Dakota State

KWTX-TV News 10 6700 American Plaza Waco, Texas 76712 (254) 776-1330 Fax (254) 751-1088
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 186387551 -
Gray Television, Inc.