Baylor’s Kim Mulkey USBWA’s Coach Of The Year Finalist

WACO (March 1, 2012) -- Baylor women’s basketball head coach Kim Mulkey has been named to the U.S. Basketball Writers Association watch lists for the National Coach of the Year. Mulkey earned the association’s Coach of the Year award last season after taking the team to a school-record 34-3 season mark.

Mulkey is one of 10 coaches named to the watch list for the National Coach of the Year. The others are Delaware's Tina Martin, Jim Crowley of St. Bonaventure, Princeton's Courtney Banghart, Duke's Joanne P. McCallie, Kentucky's Matthew Mitchell, Notre Dame’s Muffet McGraw, Penn State’s Coquese Washington, St. John’s Kim Barnes Arico and Stanford’s Tara VanDerveer.

Mulkey has led her top-ranked and undefeated Baylor squad to its second-straight 30-win season and third under her 12-year tenure. The Lady Bears, 30-0 on the season, claimed their second straight Big 12 Conference regular season championship, with a 17-0 mark and one game left to play.

In just her 12th season as a head coach, Mulkey attained 300 career victories and ranks No. 4 among the winningest active Division I head coaches (.806) and No. 5 all-time by percentage. Of the three active coaches ranked ahead of her, Mulkey reached 300 wins the fastest. It took Geno Auriemma (Connecticut) and Pat Summitt (Tennessee) each 13 seasons to attain the milestone and Stanford’s Tara VanDerveer needed 14 years to reach 300.

KWTX-TV News 10 6700 American Plaza Waco, Texas 76712 (254) 776-1330 Fax (254) 751-1088
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 141119903 -
Gray Television, Inc.