Bell & Orr Voted ASC All-Conference 1st Team

BELTON (February 26, 2013) -- The University of Mary Hardin-Baylor men’s basketball team placed six players on the American Southwest Conference All-West Division Teams released today. Cru Head Coach Ken DeWeese also was voted West Division Coach of the Year and UMHB took West Division Defensive Player of the Year honors, as well.

Kitrick Bell and Thomas Orr were both voted to the ASC All-Conference Team and also earned First Team All-West Division honors. Bell, a junior wing from Fort Bend Marshall High School, leads the ASC in rebounding at 10.4 boards per game and he averages 12.4 points per game. Bell also ranks among the nation’s best in rebounds and double-doubles. Orr, a senior guard from Hutto High School, leads the Cru in scoring with 14.5 points per game and he has a team-best 54 three-pointers. Orr grabs 5.0 rebounds per game and has 53 assists and 25 steals.

Brian Todd was voted West Division Defensive Player of the Year for the second straight season and he also earned spots on the West Division All-Defensive Team and All-West Division Second Team. Todd, a senior wing from Pflugerville High School, pulls down 4.5 rebounds per game, leads the Cru with 42 steals and also has eight blocked shots on the year. Todd is also scoring 10.9 points per game while shooting 53 percent from the field.

James Allen joined Todd on the All-West Division Second Team. Allen, a junior guard from The Woodlands College Park High School, averages 12.5 points per game and leads UMHB with 105 assists and he is second on the team with 41 steals. Allen also pulls down 5.5 rebounds per game.

Cory Meals was voted Honorable Mention All-West Division. Meals, a senior guard from Whitesboro High School, is averaging 8.6 points per game while shooting 34 percent from three-point range. He also averages 4.0 rebounds and has 18 assists and 18 steals on the season.

Layton Zinsmeister was named to the West Division All-Freshman Team. Zinsmeister, a freshman guard from The Woodlands College Park High School, was second on the Cru with 70 assists and he also has 24 steals. Zinsmeister averages 3.6 points and 2.3 rebounds per game.

Ken DeWeese was voted ASC West Division Coach of the Year for the second straight year and sixth time in the last seven seasons. DeWeese has guided the Cru to a 23-5 overall record and the Cru men won the ASC West Division with a 17-2 league record. UMHB finished as runner-up at the ASC Championship Tournament this year and will advance to the NCAA postseason for the sixth time in the last seven years.

Bell is a three-time All-West Division selection. This is the second All-West Division honor for Allen and Todd. Orr, Meals and Zinsmeister are first time All-West Division selections.

The Cru will host a Second Round NCAA Division III National Championships Game on Saturday, March 9th, at the Mayborn Campus Center. UMHB will face either ASC rival Concordia Texas or Trinity University in a 7:00 PM start that day.

KWTX-TV News 10 6700 American Plaza Waco, Texas 76712 (254) 776-1330 Fax (254) 751-1088
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 193362661 -
Gray Television, Inc.