Big 12: Replay Correctly Upheld Disputed Play

AUSTIN (October 4, 2013) -- The Big 12 says there was no indisputable video evidence showing game officials made a mistake in ruling a Texas running back was down before the ball came loose late in the fourth quarter of the Longhorns' 31-30 win over Iowa State.

The Cyclones appeared to strip the ball from Texas' Johnathan Gray with about 1 minute to play. The call on the field was that Gray was down and that was upheld by the replay official. Texas scored the winning touchdown two plays later.

Big 12 officials supervisor Walt Anderson said Friday the replay official watched the play from five angles and "correctly determined there was no indisputable evidence" to confirm or overturn the call. By rule, the call on the field was upheld.


KWTX-TV News 10 6700 American Plaza Waco, Texas 76712 (254) 776-1330 Fax (254) 751-1088
Gray Television, Inc. - Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 226557711 - kwtx.com/a?a=226557711