CenTex Players Named To Walter Camp Award Watch List

(July 19, 2013) -- Baylor running back Lache Seastrunk (Temple) and Kansas State running back John Hubert (Midway) were named to the Walter Camp Award Watch List on Friday.

The Walter Camp Player of the Year award is the nation’s fourth-oldest individual college football accolade. The 50-player watch list will be narrowed to 10 semifinalists in November, and the winner, which is selected by the 125 NCAA Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors, will be announced live on ESPN SportsCenter on Dec. 12.

Seastrunk enters his junior season riding a four-game streak of 100-yard rushing games. He earned All-Big 12 honors and was named Big 12 Newcomer of the Year after rushing for 1,012 yards and seven touchdowns with a school-record 7.7 yards-per-carry average during his debut season in Waco last year.

Seastrunk broke out over the final six games of the season, rushing for an average of 138.5 yards per game to help Baylor to a 5-1 finish. He was named 2012 Holiday Bowl Offensive MVP after rushing for 138 yards in the Bears’ second straight bowl victory.

Seastrunk added to his list of preseason honors that includes Big 12 Conference Preseason Offensive Player of the Year and the Doak Walker Award and Maxwell Award watch lists.

Hubert, also a preseason candidate for the Maxwell and Doak Walker Awards, ranked fourth in the Big 12 in rushing at 72.8 yard per game last season, while he had 15 rushing touchdowns to finish third. Also a Preseason All-Big 12 pick, Hubert earned All-Big 12 First Team honors in 2012 from the league’s coaches and enters the 2013 season just 15 yards shy of K-State’s career top-10 for rushing yardage.

KWTX-TV News 10 6700 American Plaza Waco, Texas 76712 (254) 776-1330 Fax (254) 751-1088
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 216204021 - kwtx.com/a?a=216204021
Gray Television, Inc.