Griner, Sims Named Wade Finalist; Mulkey Coach Of Year Finalist

(March 27, 2013) -- Baylor senior Brittney Griner and junior Odyssey Sims were two of 12 finalist for the The State Farm Wade Trophy, which is presented annually to the nation’s most outstanding NCAA Division I women’s basketball player.

Griner won the award last season. Both Griner and Sims have helped Baylor advance to the Sweet 16, where they'll face Louisville on Sunday in Oklahoma City.

Also announced today, Lady Bears head coach Kim Mulkey was one of eight finalist for the the 2013 RUSSELL ATHLETIC/WBCA NCAA Division I National Coach of the Year Award.

The award will be handed out during the third annual WBCA Awards Show on Monday, April 8, in New Orleans. This event is part of the WBCA National Convention and is held in conjunction with the NCAA® Women’s Final Four.

The State Farm Wade Trophy finalists:

Layshia Clarenden California Sr. G
Elena Delle Donne Delaware Sr. F/G
Skylar Diggins Notre Dame Sr. G
Stefanie Dolson Connecticut Jr. C
Brittney Griner Baylor Sr. P
Maggie Lucas Penn State Jr. G
A’dia Mathies Kentucky Sr. G
Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis Connecticut So. F
Chiney Ogwumike Stanford Jr. F
Meighan Simmons Tennessee Jr. G
Odyssey Sims Baylor Jr. G
Alyssa Thomas Maryland Jr. F

2013 RUSSELL ATHLETIC/WBCA NCAA Division I National Coach of the Year Award finalist:

• Region 1 – Muffet McGraw, University of Notre Dame
• Region 2 – Brenda Frese, University of Maryland
• Region 3 – Holly Warlick, University of Tennessee
• Region 4 – Tricia Cullop, University of Toledo
• Region 5 – Kim Mulkey, Baylor University
• Region 6 – Coquese Washington, Penn State University
• Region 7 – Beth Burns, San Diego State University
• Region 8 – Tara VanDerveer, Stanford University

KWTX-TV News 10 6700 American Plaza Waco, Texas 76712 (254) 776-1330 Fax (254) 751-1088
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 200320781 -
Gray Television, Inc.