Jackson, Jones III Named NABC All-District

KANSAS CITY, Mo. (March 14, 2012) -- Baylor junior Pierre Jackson and sophomore Perry Jones III were named to the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) Division I All-District 8 second team Wednesday. It marks the third consecutive season that Baylor has multiple NABC All-District selections.

Jackson and Jones III were also selected to the USBWA All-District VII team.

Jackson, a second-team All-Big 12 selection by the league coaches, ranks second on the team to Jones III in scoring (13.3), while leading the Bears in assists (5.7) and steals (1.7). The Las Vegas native was named first-team All-Big 12 by ESPN.com, Fort Worth Star-Telegram, Kansas City Star and Waco Tribune-Herald and second-team All-Big 12 by the AP, CBSSports.com, Dallas Morning News and San Antonio Express-News. He was also tabbed Big 12 Newcomer of the Year by Waco Tribune-Herald and Big 12 Transfer of the Year by ESPN.com.

Jones III picked up second-team NABC All-District 8 honors for the second consecutive season. PJ3 leads Baylor in both scoring (14.0) and rebounding (7.7), while shooting 50.3 percent from the floor and 71.0 percent from the free throw line. The Duncanville, Texas, product was named to the Big 12 All-Tournament Team after averaging 21.7 points and 9.7 rebounds in leading Baylor to the Big 12 Championship title game. He was a third-team All-Big 12 selection by the league coaches and a second-team pick by the AP, CBSSports.com, ESPN.com and Kansas City Star.

Members of the NABC All-District 8 first team were Thomas Robinson (Kansas), Marcus Denmon (Missouri), Tyshawn Taylor (Kansas), Royce White (Iowa State) and J’Covan Brown (Texas). Joining Jackson and PJ3 on the second team were Ricardo Ratliffe (Missouri), Rodney McGruder (Kansas State) and Kim English (Missouri).

The NABC Division I All-District teams recognize the nation’s best men’s collegiate basketball student-athletes. Selected and voted on by member coaches of the NABC, these student-athletes represent the finest basketball players across America. The 240 student-athletes, from 24 districts, are eligible for the NABC Division I All-America teams, which will be announced Tue., March 20.

1997 Brian Skinner, first team (District 9)
1998 Brian Skinner, first team (District 9)
2001 Terry Black, first team (District 9)
2002 Lawrence Roberts, second team (District 9)
2003 Lawrence Roberts, first team (District 9)
2008 Curtis Jerrells, first team (District 9)
2009 Curtis Jerrells, second team (District 8)
2010 LaceDarius Dunn, second team (District 8)
Ekpe Udoh, second team (District 8)
2011 LaceDarius Dunn, first team (District 8)
Perry Jones III, second team (District 8)
2012 Pierre Jackson, second team (District 8)
Perry Jones III, second team (District 8)

KWTX-TV News 10 6700 American Plaza Waco, Texas 76712 (254) 776-1330 Fax (254) 751-1088
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 142669876 - kwtx.com/a?a=142669876
Gray Television, Inc.