Petty, Manziel, Evans Named Semifinalists For Walter Camp Award

NEW HAVEN, Conn. (November 13, 2013) Baylor quarterback Bryce Petty and Texas A&M’s sophomore duo of wide receiver Mike Evans and Johnny Manziel were named semifinalists for the prestigious Walter Camp Player of the Year Award by the Walter Camp Football Foundation on Wednesday.

Evans and Manziel were one of only two teammate pairs on the list, joining Alabama’s senior quarterback AJ McCarron and senior linebacker C.J. Mosley. The 15-player watch list includes 10 quarterbacks, three defensive players, one wide receiver and one running back. A list of five finalists will be announced on Wednesday, December 2. has been named one of 15 “Players To Watch” for the 2013 Walter Camp Player of the Year Award, the Walter Camp Football Foundation announced on Wednesday.

The Walter Camp Award is the nation’s fourth-oldest college football award and is given annually to the nation’s top player since 1967.

Petty is one of 10 quarterbacks up for the honor, but the only player from the Big 12 Conference on the list. The junior from Midlothian, Texas, has already been named a semifinalist for both the Maxwell Award and Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award.
This season, Petty has helped Baylor to the first 8-0 start in program history by throwing for 2,657 yards and 21 touchdowns, while completing 66.8 percent of his passes. In his first year as a starter, Petty has only one interception and boasts an FBS-best 210.64 passing efficiency rating.
He has directed the nation’s top offense as the Bears are averaging 686.0 yards per game and scoring 61.0 points per contest. Individually, Petty is first nationally in yards per completion (19.68), third in points responsible for per game (21.8), fifth in passing yards per game (332.1) and fifth in total offense (346.9).
Petty leads the Big 12 in passing touchdowns (21) and 300-yard passing games (7). He has also run for eight touchdowns this season, while racking up 118 yards on 44 carries.
Petty graduated in May 2013 with a degree in health science studies and is currently enrolled in graduate school classes.
Baylor last had a Walter Camp Award semifinalist in 2011 when Robert Griffin III was a finalist for the honor.
A list of five finalists for the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award will be announced on Wed., Dec. 2. The 2013 Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient, who is voted on by the Football Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors, will be presented on Thursday, Dec. 12 during the 6 p.m. edition of ESPN SportsCenter.

KWTX-TV News 10 6700 American Plaza Waco, Texas 76712 (254) 776-1330 Fax (254) 751-1088
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 231828241 -
Gray Television, Inc.