Seastrunk Named Doak Walker Semifinalist

DALLAS (November 14, 2013) Baylor running back Lache Seastrunk has been named one of 10 semifinalists for the 2013 Doak Walker Award, the PwC SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors announced on Thursday.

The Doak Walker Award is presented annually to the nation's top college running back. Seastrunk is the lone Big 12 representative up for the 24th annual award, which is named for SMU's three-time All-America running back Doak Walker.

Seastrunk has topped 100 yards rushing in six of eight games this season, while helping BU to the first 8-0 start in program history. In total, the junior from Temple, Texas has rushed for 888 yards and a conference-best 11 touchdowns. He is averaging 8.7 yards per carry, which is second-best in the nation. Seastrunk’s 111.0 rushing yards per game average is tops in the Big 12 and 18th nationally.

Seastrunk is part of the nation’s most prolific offense, which is averaging 61.0 points per game and is ninth in the country and first in the Big 12 in rushing with 295.4 yards per game.

Members of the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will now cast their votes to determine the 2013 finalists. On Monday, Nov. 25, three finalists will be named. A second vote by the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will determine the recipient. The 2013 Doak Walker Award recipient will be announced live on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Dec. 12, on ESPN.

Baylor will next take on Texas Tech this Saturday at AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas. That game will start at 6 p.m. and will be broadcast on FOX.

Doak Walker Semifinalists
Ameer Abdullah (Jr.) Nebraska
Antonio Andrews (Sr.) Western Kentucky
Ka’Deem Carey (Jr.) Arizona
Mike Davis (So.) South Carolina
Tyler Gaffney (Sr.) Stanford
Melvin Gordon (So.) Wisconsin
Tre Mason (Jr.) Auburn
Bishop Sankey (Jr.) Washington
Lache Seastrunk (Jr.) Baylor
Andre Williams (Sr.) Boston College

KWTX-TV News 10 6700 American Plaza Waco, Texas 76712 (254) 776-1330 Fax (254) 751-1088
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 231919531 -
Gray Television, Inc.