Six UMHB Baseball Players Make ASC All-Conference Teams

(May 12, 2014) The University of Mary Hardin-Baylor baseball team placed six players on the American Southwest Conference All-Conference Teams released Monday, May 12th.

The Cru also claimed two of the league’s top individual awards. UMHB had four Second Team All-Conference picks, placed one player on the All-Conference Third Team and had one Honorable Mention All-Conference selection.

Dakota Parsons was voted ASC Freshman of the Year and also earned Honorable Mention All-Conference honors. Parsons, a freshman shortstop from College Park High School, batted .344 with one home run and 21 RBI. He also scored 23 runs and stole seven bases.

K.J. Stark was named ASC Co-Newcomer of the Year and was also voted to the All-Conference Second Team. Stark, a junior outfielder from Ellison High School and a transfer from Temple College, hit .315, drove in 27 runs and tied for the team lead with three home runs. Stark added 12 stolen bases and scored a team-high 40 runs. He shares Newcomer of the Year honors with Concordia Texas pitcher Kiel Harmon.

Stark was joined on the All-Conference Second Team by Aaron Barteau, Chase Burrow and Rob Loewe. Barteau, a sophomore pitcher from Bishop Lynch High School, recorded a 6-1 record a set a school NCAA Division III era record with seven saves. Barteau struck out 45 batters in 28.2 innings and posted an ERA of 0.95 on the year. Burrow, a junior outfielder from Groesbeck High School, batted .300 with three homers and 35 RBI. He also stole a team-best 14 bases. Loewe, a senior catcher/first baseman from Waller High School, hit .296 and drove in 29 runs for the Cru this season.

Outfielder Will Stafford was named to the All-Conference Third Team. Stafford, a sophomore from Cinco Ranch High School, batted a team-high .358. He drove in 18 runs and stole nine bases.

UMHB finished the 2014 season with a 26-17 overall record and went 19-14 in ASC play. The Cru advanced to the ASC Championship Tournament and went 1-2 in that event.

Sul Ross State shortstop Josh Vasquez was named ASC Player of the Year and Scott Weinschenk of Concordia Texas took ASC Pitcher of the Year honors. U.T.-Tyler’s Billy Lirely was voted ASC Sportsmanship Athlete of the Year and the coaching staff of ASC Champion LeTourneau University was named ASC Coaching Staff of the Year.

KWTX-TV News 10 6700 American Plaza Waco, Texas 76712 (254) 776-1330 Fax (254) 751-1088
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 258946081 -
Gray Television, Inc.