UMHB Places Eight On Distinguished Scholar Athlete Team

(June 9, 2014) The University of Mary Hardin-Baylor placed eight student-athletes on the American Southwest Conference Winter/Spring Distinguished Scholar-Athlete Teams released today. UMHB also took a conference-high three Distinguished Scholar-Athlete Awards with AshLee Bilbo winning for women’s tennis, Macy Moore claiming the women’s basketball award and Taylor O’Rear earning the women’s golf honor. The Winter/Spring Distinguished Scholar-Athlete teams recognize student-athletes in the following sports: baseball, softball, men’s basketball, women’s basketball, men’s golf, women’s golf, men’s tennis, women’s tennis, men’s track and field and women’s track and field.

Bilbo, a senior from Bryan High School, is an organismal biology major and carries a 4.00 GPA. She earned ASC All-West Division honors in both singles and doubles and is a two-time Capital One Academic All-American. Bilbo was also voted ASC Women’s Tennis Distinguished Scholar-Athlete last year.

Moore, a junior guard from Cypress Falls High School, is a mathematics major with a 3.89 GPA. She was an ASC All-Conference selection and is a two-time ASC Academic All-Conference pick.

O’Rear, a junior from Salado High School, is a nursing major and maintains a 3.45 GPA. She is a two-time ASC Individual Champion and has helped lead the UMHB women to a Division III National Championship and National Runner-Up finish the past two years. O’Rear is also a two-time ASC Academic All-Conference pick and a WGCA All-American Scholar.

Russell Green (So., Klein) represented the Cru men’s basketball program on the ASC Distinguished Scholar-Athlete Team while Moore was the women’s basketball representative. Justin Judkins (Sr., San Antonio) and O’Rear represented the UMHB men’s and women’s golf teams, respectively. Jacob Stamps (Jr., LaPorte) and Bilbo were honored on the men’s and women’s tennis teams. Jordan Mattke (Sr., Troy) was honored from the UMHB baseball team and Rebekah Ragsdale (Sr., Orange) was selected to the softball honor squad.

The honor, in its seventh academic year, recognizes student-athletes that achieve a higher level of academic achievement (a 3.20 grade-point average or better) while competing as a starter or important reserve on their team. From that list – limited to one nominee per school in each ASC championship sport – the sports information directors from the conference’s 12 member institutions vote on a Distinguished Scholar-Athlete from each sport.

KWTX-TV News 10 6700 American Plaza Waco, Texas 76712 (254) 776-1330 Fax (254) 751-1088
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 262461241 -
Gray Television, Inc.