UMHB Places Three on All-America Teams

Belton (December 14, 2012) -- The University of Mary Hardin-Baylor football team placed four players on the All-America Teams released prior to kickoff of the Stagg Bowl Friday night. The Cru placed two players on the All-America First Team, had one Second Team selection and also had one Third Team honoree.

Linebacker Javicz Jones and offensive guard Michael Coles were both named to the All-America First Team. Jones, a senior from Katy Morton Ranch High School, led the Cru with 131 tackles and also set a school record with eight interceptions. He added 12.0 tackles for loss, 5.0 sacks, six pass break-ups and two blocked kicks while scoring four defensive touchdowns and a safety. Coles, a senior from San Antonio Stevens High School, was the highest-grading offensive lineman for UMHB and helped clear the way for an offensive that averaged 296.2 rushing yards and 523.2 yards of total offense per game.

Quarterback LiDarral Bailey was a Second Team All-American. Bailey, a senior from Bremond High School, set UMHB records by going 195 of 276 passing for 2,642 yards and 30 touchdowns. He threw just three interceptions and ranked second in the country in pass efficiency. Bailey also added 961 yards and 15 touchdowns rushing.

Defensive tackle Silvio Diaz was selected to the All-America Third Team. Diaz, a junior from Leander High School, led the Cru with 9.0 sacks and 17.0 tackles for loss. He posted 58 total tackles and also broke up two passes.

UMHB finished the 2012 season with a 13-1 overall record and won the American Southwest Conference title with a 7-0 league mark. The Cru advanced to the NCAA Division III National Semifinals before falling at top-ranked Mount Union 48-35. UMHB tied the school and conference record with the 13 victories and also set a new school mark with 13 straight wins.

KWTX-TV News 10 6700 American Plaza Waco, Texas 76712 (254) 776-1330 Fax (254) 751-1088
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 183602591 -
Gray Television, Inc.