UMHB Volleyball Receives First-Round Bye For ASC Tourney

(October 27, 2013) University of Texas at Dallas volleyball posted a 17-1 record in league competition to win the regular season title and earn the right to host the 2013 ASC Volleyball Championship Tournament, Nov. 7-9, at the UTD Activity Center in Richardson, Texas. The bracket for the six-team, double-elimination ASC tournament was announced Sunday (Oct. 27) following completion of the conference play on Saturday. All six tournament teams have games remaining on their regular season schedules.

No. 1 seed Texas-Dallas will play the winner of game two between No. 4 Hardin-Simmons (19-11, ASC 14-4) and No. 5 Texas-Tyler (21-10, ASC 10-8). Hardin-Simmons, winners of the last three tournament championships, is making its ninth tournament appearance and lead the ASC with a 13-3 record in tournament play. Texas-Tyler makes its fourth tournament appearance and third in the last four years.

No. 2 seed, Mary Hardin-Baylor (26-5, ASC 15-3) will receive a first round bye. The Crusaders enter their third consecutive ASC tournament and will play the winner of the No. 3 East Texas Baptist (25-7, ASC 14-4) and No. 6 Concordia Texas (11-18, ASC 7-11) game. East Texas Baptist makes its league-leading 12th tournament appearance, while Concordia Texas makes its first appearance in the conference tournament since 2000.

Top-seeded Texas-Dallas (26-6) is currently on a 15-match win streak, and its 17-1 mark in league play matches the Comets' best conference win total from the 2009 season (17-0) when they won the ASC title.

The 2013 ASC Volleyball Championship Tournament is the 16th postseason event dating back to 1998. The ASC tournament winner earns an automatic berth in the NCAA Division III Women's Volleyball Championship.

KWTX-TV News 10 6700 American Plaza Waco, Texas 76712 (254) 776-1330 Fax (254) 751-1088
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 229469321 -
Gray Television, Inc.