AP Names Its College Coach Of The Year

The Associated Press named its college coach of the year Monday.

Gus Malzahn (File)

AUBURN, Ala. (December 23, 2013) Auburn's Gus Malzahn was named the Associated Press coach of the year Monday after directing one of the biggest turnarounds in college football history.

He led the second-ranked Tigers into the national championship game against No. 1 Florida State, taking them from 3-9 to 12-1 in his debut season.

Malzahn said the honor was "very humbling," but said such awards are a team accomplishment.

He received 33 votes from AP Top 25 college football poll voters to beat out Duke's David Cutcliffe, who received 17 votes after leading Duke (10-3) to its first 10-win season.

Florida State's Jimbo Fisher and Michigan State's Mark Dantonio each received three votes.

Malzahn is the second Auburn coach to win the award, joining Tommy Tuberville in 2004.

KWTX-TV News 10 6700 American Plaza Waco, Texas 76712 (254) 776-1330 Fax (254) 751-1088
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 237042321 - kwtx.com/a?a=237042321
Gray Television, Inc.