ASC Men's Soccer Tournament Bracket Released

RICHARDSON (October 28,2012) -- Mississippi College posted an 11-1 mark in league play to win the American Southwest Conference regular season title for the first time in program history and earned the right to host the 2012 American Southwest Conference Men’s Soccer Championship Tournament, to be held Nov. 1-4 at Robert P. Longabaugh Field in Clinton, Miss.

The entire six-team, single elimination event – being played for a 15th-straigh year – will be available for fans through free live statistics. All links can be found on Mississippi College’s athletic website ( and the conference’s Tournament Central page (

Head coach Kevin Johns’ Choctaws (12-5), who topped Texas-Dallas 1-0 on the road in their regular season finale to lock up the outright title and hosting rights, earned a first-round bye as the No. 1 seed. Head coach Jack Peel and two-time conference champion UT Dallas (11-5) will be the No. 2 seed and received the other first-round bye.

Two-time defending ASC champion Texas-Tyler (11-5-1), which has also hoisted the league trophy in 2008, will be the No. 3 seed. Mary Hardin-Baylor (10-5-1) is the No. 4 seed, seven-time conference champion Hardin-Simmons (9-6-1) is in the No. 5 spot and Schreiner (7-9) secured the sixth seed.

Thursday’s first-round matchups include Mary Hardin-Baylor against Hardin-Simmons at 11 a.m., with the winner getting host Mississippi College in Friday’s 11 a.m. semifinal. UT Tyler and Schreiner will duel on Thursday at 2 p.m., with the victor going against UT Dallas at 2 p.m.
on Friday in the semifinals. After a full day off on Saturday, the championship game is slated for 1 p.m. Sunday.

The ASC tournament winner earns an automatic berth in the NCAA Division III Men’s Soccer Championship.

NOTES: Admission: $5 for adults, $3 for students/children/seniors each day. Under age 6 will be admitted for no charge. No complimentary admission passes will be accepted . . . Official tournament long-sleeved t-shirts are $20, while official tournament programs will be $2. . .
.The hosting rights of the ASC men’s soccer tournament are awarded each year to the regular season top seed. . . . Returning all-tournament selections from last year are senior goalkeeper Segio Gardea and senior forward Chris Powell of Texas-Tyler; senior defenders Brennan Goodman and Rojo Martinez of Hardin-Simmons; junior defender Brandon Dutton of Mary Hardin-Baylor; and junior goalkeeper Steven Nicknish of Texas-Dallas. Powell was also picked in 2010. . . . To talk about/follow the tournament on Twitter, use the hashtag: #ASCsoccer.

2012 AMERICAN SOUTHWEST CONFERENCE MEN'S SOCCER CHAMPIONSHIP TOURNAMENT Robert P. Longabaugh Field / Clinton, Miss. / Hosted by: Mississippi COllege Thursday, November 1 Quarterfinals Game 1: [4] Mary Hardin-Baylor (10-5-1) vs. [5] Hardin-Simmons (9-6-1),
11 a.m.
Game 2: [3] Texas-Tyler (11-5-1) vs. [6] Schreiner (7-9), 2 p.m.
Friday, November 2
Game 3: [1] Mississippi College (12-5) vs. Winner Game 1, 11 a.m.
Game 4: [2] Texas-Dallas (11-5) vs. Winner Game 2, 2 p.m.
Sunday, November 4
Game 5: Semifinal winners, 1 p.m.

KWTX-TV News 10 6700 American Plaza Waco, Texas 76712 (254) 776-1330 Fax (254) 751-1088
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 176195091 -
Gray Television, Inc.