Davis, Cothran Named To All-Big 12 Team

IRVING (May 3, 2012) -- Baylor freshman Hayley Davis and senior Chelsey Cothran were named to the 2012 All-Big 12 Women’s Golf Team, the conference announced Thursday.

The 2012 All-Big 12 Team was identified by using the top-10 highest-ranked student-athletes according to the Golfweek/Sagarin rankings following the Big 12 Championship. The Player and Newcomer of the Year awards are automatically selected as the highest-ranked individuals from the Golfweek/Sagarin rankings following the Conference championship.

Baylor has multiple All-Big 12 selections for the first time since 2007 (Hannah Burke and Allison Martin). Davis and Cothran are the first Lady Bears to earn All-Big 12 honors since Burke in 2010.

Davis, a freshman from Wimborne, England, leads the Lady Bears with a 72.93 scoring average and 1.03 score vs. par. She has finished 11th or better in each of Baylor’s 10 tournaments this season, while posting eight top-10 finishes. Davis earned Big 12 All-Tournament recognition after tying for second at the Big 12 Women’s Golf Championship, finishing one stroke behind the individual winner.

Davis was named the Big 12 Women’s Golfer of the Month for September after opening her career with back-to-back second-place finishes at the Ptarmigan Ram Fall Classic and the Branch Law Firm / Dick McGuire Invitational.

Cothran ranked second on the Baylor team in both scoring average (73.63) and score vs. par (1.73). She posted six top-10 and nine top-25 finishes as a senior. The Springdale, Ark., native also earned Big 12 All-Tournament recognition after finishing seventh at the Big 12 Women’s Golf Championship. As a junior, she was the first golfer in program history to receive an NCAA Regional invitation as an individual (2011 NCAA West Regional).

The Lady Bears earned their 11th NCAA postseason bid in program history and will compete at the 2012 NCAA West Regional, which will be hosted May 10-12 at the Colorado National Golf Club in Erie, Colo.


Chelsey Cothran, Baylor
Hayley Davis, Baylor
Chirapat Jao-Javanil, Oklahoma
Jayde Panos, Oklahoma State
Kelsey Vines, Oklahoma State
Nicole Vandermade, Texas
Mary Michael Maggio, Texas A&M
Katerina Ruzickova, Texas A&M
Gabriella Dominguez, Texas Tech
Kimberly Kaufman, Texas Tech

Player of the Year: Kelsey Vines, Oklahoma State
Newcomer of the Year: Kelsey Vines, Oklahoma State
Coach of the Year: Veronique Drouin-Luttrell, Oklahoma

KWTX-TV News 10 6700 American Plaza Waco, Texas 76712 (254) 776-1330 Fax (254) 751-1088
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 150058735 - kwtx.com/a?a=150058735
Gray Television, Inc.