Griner And Sims Named To Midseason Naismith Trophy List

WACO (February 29, 2012) -- Baylor teammates Brittney Griner and Odyssey Sims are two of 32 of the top women’s basketball players named to the Naismith Women’s College Player of the Year Award list the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced today.

The midseason list of 32 was compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s Board of Selectors, which based its criteria on player performances from the 2011-12 season. The Naismith Trophy, presented by AT&T, will be awarded on April 1, 2012, at the NCAA Women’s Final Four in Denver.

Since 2005, presenting sponsor AT&T has set the standard in allowing fans to participate in determining the trophy winner. Through the power and ease of text messaging fan voting will account for 25 percent of all of the final results - more than any other national college basketball award.

Griner, a junior, is averaging 22.7 points per game and is among the nation’s leaders in scoring, rebounding (9.7), field goal percentage (.601) and blocks (.52). Griner, a preseason consensus All-American and preseason Big 12 Player of the Year, became the first player in NCAA history to score 2,000 points and block 500 shots. The 6-8 post has scored 2,177 points while blocking 548 shots in her career. She needs just 117 blocks to move to No. 1 on the NCAA Division Career Top 10 list.

Sims, just one of seven underclassmen listed, averages 14.7 points per game, including 20.1 points an outing vs. ranked opponents, and 4.8 assists, 3.1 steals and 3.0 rebounds per contest. She is shooting .455 percent from the floor and an impressive .804 percent from the free throw line.

2012 Naismith Trophy Midseason List

Alex Bentley – Penn State

Elena Delle Donne – Delaware

Skylar Diggins – Notre Dame

Shante Evans – Hofstra

Chelsea Gray – Duke

Brittney Griner – Baylor

Bria Hartley – Connecticut

Tayler Hill – Ohio State

Jordan Hooper – Nebraska

Courtney Hurt – VCU

Jessica Jenkins – St. Bonaventure

Glory Johnson – Tennessee

Shenise Johnson – Miami

Maggie Lucas – Penn State

Anna Martin – DePaul

A’dia Mathies – Kentucky

Lindsey Moore – Nebraska

Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis – Connecticut

Natalie Novosel – Notre Dame

Chiney Ogwumike – Stanford

Nneda Ogwumike – Stanford

Deveraux Peters – Notre Dame

Samantha Prahalis – Ohio State

Brittany Rayburn – Purdue

Sugar Rodgers – Georgetown

Khadijah Rushdan – Rutgers

Odyssey Sims – Baylor

Shekinna Stricklen – Tennessee

Alyssa Thomas – Maryland

Elizabeth Williams – Duke

Riquna Williams – Miami

Julie Wojta – Wisconsin-Green Bay

KWTX-TV News 10 6700 American Plaza Waco, Texas 76712 (254) 776-1330 Fax (254) 751-1088
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 140933093 -
Gray Television, Inc.