Manziel Named To Maxwell Award Watch List

(July 8, 2013) -- Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel was named to the Maxwell Award Watch List on Monday. The Maxwell Award has been given annually to America's outstanding collegiate football player since 1937, and the award is named in honor of sportswriter Robert W. "Tiny" Maxwell.

Johnny Manziel, who's looking to win his first Maxwell Award, became the first freshman to win the Heisman Trophy, Davey O’Brien Award and the Manning Award after leading the Aggies to an 11-2 record in his debut season.

He is the first freshman in FBS history, and the fifth player ever, to have 3,000 passing yards and 1,000 rushing yards in a season. Manziel closed his first collegiate campaign as the FBS freshman record-holder for rushing yards by a quarterback (1,343) and for total yards in a season (5,116) and became just the second freshman in FBS history to rush for 1,000 yards and pass for 2,000 yards.

He also set three SEC records with his 5,116 yards of total offense, his 576 total yards in one game and by passing for 3,000 yards and rushing for 1,000 yards in the same season.

His honors for the season include: All-SEC 1st Team, SEC Offensive Player of the Year, SEC Freshman of the Year, AP All-America 1st Team, 1st Team All-America by the Football Writers Association of America, and Associated Press Player of the Year.

KWTX-TV News 10 6700 American Plaza Waco, Texas 76712 (254) 776-1330 Fax (254) 751-1088
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 214655681 -
Gray Television, Inc.