No Texas Teams in Tournament For First Time Since 1977

Texas has no teams in the NCAA tournament for the first time since 1977.

When the NCAA field of 68 teams was announced Sunday, there were no Longhorns, Baylor Bears, Texas A&M Aggies, Red Raiders or Owls.

And not even any Lumberjacks. Southland Conference regular-season champion Stephen F. Austin (27-4) lost its league tournament championship game and didn't get an at-large NCAA berth.

The last time Texas teams were shut out of the NCAA tournament, it was only a 32-team field and eight years before doubling in size.

There will, however, be NCAA tournament games in the Lone Star State. Second- and-third round games will be played in Austin this week and the NCAA South Regional final will be played at Cowboys Stadium in Arlington.

KWTX-TV News 10 6700 American Plaza Waco, Texas 76712 (254) 776-1330 Fax (254) 751-1088
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 198702481 -
Gray Television, Inc.