UMHB’S Fredenburg Wins Regional Coach Of The Year

Belton (December 3, 2012) -- University of Mary Hardin-Baylor head football coach Pete Fredenburg has been named Division III Region III Coach of the Year by the American Football Coaches Association.

Fredenburg has led the Cru to a 13-0 overall record and UMHB went 7-0 in American Southwest Conference play to win a tenth ASC title this season. The Cru posted just the fourth 10-0 regular season in the program’s history this year and has set a new school record with 13 consecutive victories. UMHB will face Mount Union in an NCAA Semifinal game this Saturday in Alliance, Ohio. The Cru has advanced to at least the Second Round of the playoffs in nine straight seasons, something only Mount Union can match in Division III.

“It is a tremendous honor for me to be named Regional Coach of the Year, and is also a credit to the hard work of our assistant coaches and players,” Fredenburg said. “These awards go to individuals, but there are so many people who are included in the achievements. I would really like to thank my staff and my players for all of their hard work to make honors like this possible.”

Fredenburg is the only head coach the Cru has had in the 15-year history of the program. He has guided UMHB to a 146-33 record and 11 NCAA Division III National Championships appearances during his tenure. The Cru has won or shared ten ASC championships in that time. This is the sixth AFCA Regional Coach of the Year honor for Fredenburg. He was also named Region III Coach of the Year following the 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 and 2010 seasons. Fredenburg also won ASC Coach of the Year honors for the seventh time in his career this season.

The American Football Coaches Association Regional Coach of the Year honors are voted on by active members of the AFCA. The AFCA recognizes five regional Coach of the Year winners in each of the Association’s five divisions: Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, Division II, Division III and NAIA. The winners are selected by active members of the Association who vote for coaches in their respective regions and divisions.

KWTX-TV News 10 6700 American Plaza Waco, Texas 76712 (254) 776-1330 Fax (254) 751-1088
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 181895771 -
Gray Television, Inc.