UMHB’s Javicz Jones Named AFCA All-American

Belton (December 11, 2012) -- University of Mary Hardin-Baylor linebacker Javicz Jones (Sr., Katy Morton Ranch HS) has been named to the American Football Coaches Association’s Division III All-America Team released today. Jones earns AFCA All-America honors for the first time in his career and he becomes the ninth Cru player to earn a spot on the AFCA All-America Team. UMHB has now had a player selected to this prestigious team 11 times in the last 12 seasons.

Jones led the Cru with 135 total tackles this season and he also set a new school record with eight interceptions. Jones added 12.0 tackles for loss, 5.0 sacks, six pass break-ups, three forced fumbles and two blocked kicks. He scored four touchdowns and a safety on the year, returning two interceptions and two blocked field goals for scores. Jones is a two-time South Region Defensive Player of the Year and also took American Southwest Conference Defensive Player of the Year honors each of the past two seasons. He is a two-time All-South-Region pick and a three-time ASC All-Conference selection. Jones became the UMHB and ASC career leader in tackles this season and is also the active leader in tackles in NCAA Division III with 467 career stops.

The AFCA All-America Team is selected by a panel of head coaches from across the country and it is the only All-America Team selected exclusively by head coaches. The AFCA has selected an All-America Team every year since 1945. Jones is the only ASC player selected to this year’s AFCA All-America Team.

The Cru finished the 2012 season with a 13-1 overall record and won the ASC with a 7-0 league record. UMHB advanced to the NCAA Division III National Semifinals before falling to Mount Union 48-35. The 13-1 record is the best mark in school history and also ties the school and conference record for most wins in a single season.

Jones joins former UMHB MLB Preston Meyer, FS Tony Salazar, OT Jeff Oliver, LB Jerrell Freeman, LB Eric Henri, DB Bryson Tucker, OL Dustin Davis and OL Nate Menkin as AFCA All-Americans. Meyer was selected in both 2001 and 2002, Salazar was named in 2003, Oliver earned AFCA All-American honors in 2004, Freeman was selected in both 2006 and 2007, Henri earned a spot on the 2008 AFCA All-American Team, Tucker was selected following the 2009 season, Davis earned a spot in 2010 and Menkin was selected to last year’s AFCA All-America Team.

KWTX-TV News 10 6700 American Plaza Waco, Texas 76712 (254) 776-1330 Fax (254) 751-1088
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 183044821 -
Gray Television, Inc.