State Senators Draw Lots; Results Mixed For Central Texas Lawmakers

AUSTIN (January 24, 2013)--Members of the Texas Senate drew lots to determine whether their terms will expire in two years or four years and the results were mixed for area lawmakers.

State Sen. Charles Schwertner, R-Georgetown, whose district includes Freestone, Leon, Limestone and Milam Counties, will face re-election in 2014.

State Sens. Brian Birdwell, R-Granbury and Troy Fraser, R-Horseshoe Bay, won’t run again until 2016.

Birdwell represents Falls, Hill and McLennan Counties in Central Texas and Fraser’s district includes Bell, Coryell, Lampasas, Mills and San Saba Counties.

The once-a-decade exercise happens after redistricting forces all 31 senators to stand for election in the same year.

Drawing lots allows the senators to stagger terms for the next 10 years.

The senators drew envelopes with pieces of paper numbered one to 31 from a large glass bowl at the front of the chamber.

Odd numbers meant four-year terms, while even numbers meant two-year terms.

The draw included the currently vacant Houston district previously held by the late Sen. Mario Gallegos, who died shortly before the 2012 general election.

Republicans hold a 19-12 majority in the Senate.

The Full List

Two Year Term,

John Carona, R-Dallas

Donna Campbell, R-San Marcos

Wendy Davis, D-Fort Worth

Robert Duncan, R-Lubbock

Craig Estes, R-Wichita Falls

Kelly Hancock, R-Fort Worth

Joan Huffman, R-Southside Place

Robert Nichols, R-Jacksonville

Dan Patrick, R-Houston

Ken Paxton, R-McKinney

Charles Schwertner, R-Georgetown

Kel Seliger, R-Amarillo

Leticia Van De Putte, D-San Antonio

Kirk Watson, D-Austin

Royce West, D-Dallas

John Whitmire, D-Houston

Tommy Williams, R-The Woodlands

Judith Zaffirini, D-Laredo

Four Year Terms

Brian Birdwell, R-Granbury

Bob Deuell, R-Greenville

Rodney Ellis, D-Houston

Kevin Eltife, R-Tyler

Troy Fraser, R-Horsehoe Bay

Glenn Hegar, R-Katy

Chuy Hinojosa, D-McAllen

Eddie Lucio, D-Brownsville

Jane Nelson, R-Flower Mound

Jose Rodriguez, D-El Paso

Larry Taylor, R-Galveston

Carlos Uresti, D-San Antonio

Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 188083771 -
Gray Television, Inc.