Baylor Earns No. 1 Overall Seed In NCAA Tournament

(March 18, 2013) -- The NCAA women's tournament will have a familiar feel. All four No. 1 seeds had the same spots last year.

Baylor, Notre Dame, Connecticut and Stanford are the top seeds in the 64-team field announced Monday night. It's the first time that the same four teams are top seeds in consecutive seasons.

The Lady Bears are trying to become the fourth different school to win consecutive national championships, joining UConn, Tennessee and Southern California.

Baylor will open up its title defense Sunday night at the Ferrell Center against open Sunday at home against Southwestern Athletic Conference tournament champion Prairie View (17-14). It's the same opening matchup Baylor had two years ago, when it hosted and was a No. 1 seed for the first time.

If the Lady Bears keep advancing, and other top seeds hold as well, the rest of the tournament could have a very familiar feel.

Also in Baylor's bracket is No. 2 seed Tennessee from the SEC. The Lady Bears beat the Lady Vols in a regional final last year.

The rest of the No. 1 seeds are the same as last year, including Stanford, Baylor's only loss of the season. Those two teams could meet in the Final Four for the second straight year.

UConn and Notre Dame would face each other on the other side of the bracket. Those two schools could meet for the fourth time this season.