AUSTIN (August 26, 2013)—The fine for illegally passing a school bus is steeper this year and repeat violators could end up without their driver’s licenses, the Texas Department of Public Safety says.
The DPS says one of the most dangerous times of the school day for students is when they are boarding or exiting buses.
Starting on Sept. 1, drivers who illegally pass school buses in Texas will face maximum fines of $1,250, up from $1,000.
And under current law, drivers who violate school bus-passing laws more than once also face suspension of their licenses for as long as six months.
“As the new school year opens, I urge drivers to do their part in keeping youngsters safe by obeying school zone speed limits and stopping for school buses,” said DPS Director Steven McCraw. “
DPS will not tolerate individuals who disregard the law and illegally pass stopped school buses.”
A ticket for illegally passing a school bus in Texas cannot be dismissed by taking a defensive driving course.