Davis, Abbott Clinch Party Nominations

(March 4, 2014) Democratic State Sen. Wendy Davis defeated challenger Ray Madrigal and Republican Attorney General Greg Abbott breezed by three challengers to win their party primaries Tuesday.

They’ll face each other in November in the race to succeed longtime Texas Gov. Rick Perry, who didn’t seek another term.

Addressing supporters in her hometown of Fort Worth, Davis said she'll push new investments in education and "an economy built for the jobs of tomorrow."

“I am proud to be your candidate for governor. And I’m ready to fight for you and all hardworking Texans. Now is the time to fight for our future. This is not the time to stand still,” Davis told supporters Tuesday night.

Abbott, 56, told supporters at his victory party in san Antonio that he'll work to stop people who he says are "demanding more government" in Texas.

Abbott accused his opponents of trying to expand state government.

"I say no way to bigger government in the state of Texas,” he said.

He pledged to fight for low taxes and prioritize education.

Abbott has been attorney general since 2003 and is a former Texas Supreme Court justice.

U.S. Sen. John Cornyn easily turned back seven challengers to win the Republican primary in his bid for another term.

In the Democratic Senate race, in which The Associated Press initially declared dental mogul and former major GOP donor David Alameel the winner, it now appears that Alameel and Kesha Rogers will face each other in a runoff election in May.

The winner will face Cornyn.

The Republican race for lieutenant governor is headed to a runoff.

Dan Patrick received the most votes Tuesday and forced a runoff with incumbent David Dewhurst.

The winner faces Democrat Leticia Van de Putte in November.

State lawmakers Dan Branch and Ken Paxton advanced to a runoff for the Republican nomination for attorney general Tuesday.

Branch, a state representative from Dallas, and Paxton, a senator from McKinney, are vying to replace Abbott.

Branch and Paxton finished ahead of Railroad Commissioner Barry Smitherman in the GOP primary Tuesday.

The winner of the runoff faces Democrat Sam Houston in November.

George P. Bush, 37, the son of former Florida Gov. Jeb Bush, easily defeated businessman David Watts on Tuesday to secure the Republican nomination for Texas land commissioner.

Marco Montoya defeated Stuart Gourd Tuesday in the Democratic race for the Dist. 25 seat in the U.S. House. He’ll face first-term incumbent Roger Williams in November.

State Rep. Kyle Kacal defeated challenger Timothy Delasandro in his GOP primary bid for a second term Tuesday. He doesn’t have a Democratic opponent in November in the sprawling district which includes all or part of Brazos, Falls, Limestone, McLennan and Robertson Counties.

Incumbent Pct. 2 McLennan County Commissioner Lester Gibson easily survived a Democratic primary challenge Tuesday from Norman J. Manning. He’ll face Republican Tony Abad in November.

Carl. O. Oliver and James E. Lee, Jr., are headed to a runoff in the Democratic race for McLennan County Justice of the Peace Pct. 7.

In Bell County three-term Republican State Rep. Ralph Sheffield lost his bid for another term Tuesday to longtime Belton resident Molly S. White, who isn’t facing a Democratic challenger in November.

Also in Bell County, incumbent 264th State District Judge Martha J. “Janie” Trudo defeated Jeff Parker in the Republican primary Tuesday to win another term. She doesn’t have an opponent in November.

Jeanne Parker defeated Kenneth R. Valka in the GOP race for County Court at Law No. 1 judge in Bell County. She’s unopposed in November.

Susan Parker will face Joanna Flores Staton in a runoff in the race for Bell County District Clerk. The winner doesn’t have an opponent in November.

Incumbent Bell County Clerk Shelley Coston easily defeated Velva Johnson Tuesday in her bid for another term. She doesn’t have an opponent in November.

First-term State Rep. J.D. Sheffield, R-Gatesville, defeated Danny Pelton and Howard “Eddie” Ray in his bid for a second term. He doesn’t have a Democratic opponent in November.

In Coryell County, incumbent Republican Pct. Commissioner Daren Moore defeated challenger Ed Thompson. He doesn’t have a Democratic opponent in November.

The statewide races were decided even as voting continued in Travis County where polling sites remained open until 9 p.m. because freezing weather delayed the start of voting in the Austin area.

A district judge in Travis County approved a plan to keep polls open an extra two hours to 9 p.m. for the Democratic and GOP primaries.

Polls at most sites across Texas opened as normal Tuesday for the regular 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. voting period, but icy roads and wintry conditions in parts of Central Texas delayed the opening of Travis County voting locations until 11 a.m. Tuesday.