CENTRAL TEXAS (September 1, 2013) -- Some new and updated traffic laws recently passed by the Texas Legislature began hovering over drivers in Texas on Sunday.
Some of the most notable laws carry steep consequences and hefty fines.
The “Move Over” law went into effect, which states when drivers spot TxDot vehicles flashing their emergency lights on the side of the road, they're required to move over to the next lane or reduce their speed by 20 mph.
Violators can face fines anywhere from $500 to $2,000.
Also, leaving the scene of an accident involving injury or death now carries the same consequences of intoxication manslaughter.
A second degree felony carries a punishment of two to 20 years in prison and an optional fine no more than $10,000.
A third degree felony carries a penalty of two to 10 years in prison and an optional fine no more than $10,000.
The penalty for passing a school bus while its lights are flashing and stop signs are displayed was also changed.
The fines used to range anywhere from $200 to $1,000, but that range has been changed to $500 to $1,250.
However, some convenience comes with these new laws. Effective Sunday, drivers in Texas are allowed to use their smartphones to display a proof of liability insurance when pulled over.
According to DPS, it can simply be a photo of your insurance as long as the picture is clearly visible.