Bluegrass Awards Remember Earl Scruggs, Doc Watson

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (September 28, 2012)—The loss of icons and friends colored the International Bluegrass Music Awards.

The Gibson Brothers won top honors of entertainer of the year and joined Junior Sisk & Ramblers Choice as the only multiple winners Thursday night at Ryman Auditorium, but the attention of most was on the bluegrass pioneers no longer able to attend.

An emotional Steve Martin paid tribute to the late banjo innovator Earl Scruggs with a special 30-banjo salute that included many of the world's top five-string players.

The IBMAs also saluted players Doc Watson, Doug Dillard and Everett Lilly, and bluegrass promoter and actor Andy Griffith, all of whom died in the last year.

Watson won guitarist of the year posthumously.

KWTX-TV News 10 6700 American Plaza Waco, Texas 76712 (254) 776-1330 Fax (254) 751-1088
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 171816561 -
Gray Television, Inc.