Drought Prompts Disaster Declarations In 11 States

LAS VEGAS (January 16, 2014) Federal officials have designated portions of 11 western and central states including Texas as primary natural disaster areas because of a drought.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture's announcement also includes counties in Colorado, New Mexico, Nevada, Kansas, Utah, Arkansas, Hawaii, Idaho, Oklahoma and California.

Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack said in a statement that he sympathizes with farmers and ranchers who are dealing with the lack of rain and snow, and assured them that the USDA will stand by them.

The designation means eligible farmers can qualify for low-interest emergency loans from the agriculture department.

Counties adjacent to those that are affected are also eligible for assistance.

The United States Drought Monitor reports that while storms have dumped rain and snow in the east, droughts are persisting or intensifying in the west.

KWTX-TV News 10 6700 American Plaza Waco, Texas 76712 (254) 776-1330 Fax (254) 751-1088
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 240611931 - kwtx.com/a?a=240611931
Gray Television, Inc.