Waco: Baylor Law Students Win National Law Tournament

By: Brittany Semadeni Email
By: Brittany Semadeni Email

WACO (October 31, 2012)--Four Baylor University law students came out a winner in the National Institute for Trial Advocacy 2012 Tournament of Champions which wrapped up on Sunday.

The team, comprised of Leah Maxwell, Stephen Netherton, David Shaw and Blayne Thompson, beat out competitors from Maryland and California, among others.

The team also won the Professionalism Award while Netherton won the Best Advocate Award.

The competition was hosted by IIT Chicago-Kent College of Law in Chicago.

The team of Claire Carroll and Jen Pfanzelt won the Mack Kidd Administrative Law Moot Court Competition on Saturday, also in Chicago, marking the seventh consecutive year that Baylor Law School has taken the top prize at that competition.

A Baylor team also won Third Best Respondent Brief at the National Criminal Procedure Moot Court Competition in San Diego over the weekend.

“What a fantastic victory for Baylor Law. To succeed in the company of an invited lineup of the most successful and high-profile mock trial competitors in the nation is amazing,” Baylor Law School Dean Brad Toben said.

KWTX-TV News 10 6700 American Plaza Waco, Texas 76712 (254) 776-1330 Fax (254) 751-1088
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 176667831 - kwtx.com/a?a=176667831
Gray Television, Inc.