Central Texas counties included in drought disaster designation

Published: Mar. 30, 2018 at 2:15 PM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

Ten Central Texas counties are included in a drought disaster designation announced Friday.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture has designated Bell and Coryell counties as primary natural disaster areas because of drought.

Farmers and ranchers in Bosque, Burnet, Falls, Hamilton, Lampasas, McLennan, Milam, and Williamson counties also qualify for natural disaster assistance, the USDA said.

Qualified operators in the affected counties are eligible for Farmer Service Agency emergency loans and have eight months from March 29 to apply for loans to cover part of their actual losses, the USDA said.