Drought disaster declaration includes Central Texas counties

Published: Feb. 6, 2020 at 4:30 PM CST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

Gov. Greg Abbott Thursday issued a disaster declaration stemming from the ongoing drought that includes Bell, Freestone, Navarro and Williamson counties in Central Texas.

Drought conditions, the proclamation says, “continue to pose a threat of imminent disaster” in Bell and Williamson counties, which were included in an earlier declaration, and drought conditions now also threaten Freestone and Navarro counties.

The declaration calls for suspension, with Abbott’s approval, of “any regulatory statute prescribing the procedures for conduct of state business or any order or rule of a state agency that would in any way prevent, hinder, or delay necessary action in coping with this disaster.”

The declaration also includes Anderson, Blanco, Burleson, Burnet, Cherokee, Dimmit, Henderson, Jackson, Kinney, Llano, Maverick, Real, Smith Uvalde, Val Verde, Zapata, and Zavala counties.