Judge dismisses cases against five more Twin Peaks bikers

By  | 

WACO, Texas (KWTX) A judge Tuesday dismissed cases against five more Twin Peaks bikers, raising the total number of dismissals to 126.

Dismissal orders were signed Tuesday for Paul Miller, James Caffey, Stephen Dudley, George Rogers and Noe Adame.

On Monday, the cases against Michael Herring, Thomas Landers, and Christopher Stainton were dismissed.

More than 150 bikers were originally indicted for engaging in organized criminal activity in connection with the May 17, 2015 shootout between members of several motorcycle clubs and police at Waco’s Twin Peaks restaurant.

Nine bikers died in the melee and 20 others were hurt.

A week ago, judges dismissed the cases against more than 60 bikers.

On May 8, State District Judge Ralph Strother Tuesday dismissed the cases against Timothy Bayless, John Arnold, Melvin Pattenaude, Salvador Campos, James Ensey, Matthew Folse, Lawrence Garcia, Terry Martin, Juventino Montellano, Jason Moreno, Eliodoro Munguia, Joseph Ortiz, Ares Phoinix, Larry Pina, Daniel Pesina, Andres Ramirez, Kristoffer Rhyne, Robert Robertson, Andrew Sandoval, Jacob Wilson, Phillip Smith, John Wilson, Matthew Yocum, Ronnie Bishop, Christopher Julian Carrizal, Jason Cavazos, Michael Chaney, Lance Geneva, Valdemar Guajardo, Bryan Harper, Tommy Jennings, Edgar Kelleher, Michael Kenes, Martin Lewis, Keith McCallum, John Moya, Jr., Jerry Pollard, James Stallings, Blake Taylor, Christian Valencia, Mark White and Philip White.

Later the same day, State District Judge Matt Johnson dismissed cases against Rene Cavazos, Richard Benavides, Gage Yarborough, Brian Brincks, James Gray, James Devoll, James David, Lindell Copeland, Michael Thomas, Seth Tyler Smith, Dusty Oehlert, Rudy Mercado, Eleazar Martinez, Josh Martin, Jarrod Lehman, Jarron Hernandez, James Hardin, Gregory Wingo, Lawrence Yager and John Vensel.

Last Wednesday, the McLennan County Grand Jury handed up superseding indictments against 25 bikers on whose cases prosecutors are now focused.

Ray Allen, Jeffrey Battey and Glenn Allen Walker were named in indictments charging murder and riot, both first-degree felonies.

Most of the rest of the bikers were indicted on riot charges including Christopher Jacob Carrizal whose trial on the original engaging in organized criminal activity charge ended in a mistrial in November 2017 after jurors reached consensus on one of three counts, but told the judge they could not agree on the other two.

He has a new trial date in early September.

Also named in indictments charging riot Wednesday were Mitchell Bradford (two counts); Aaron Carpenter (two counts); Richard Cantu; Nathan Champeau (two counts); William Flowers (two counts); John Guerrero; Richard Lockhart; David Martinez; Wesley McAlister (two counts); Tom Mendez; Marshall Mitchell; Jerry Pierson; Marcus Pilkington; Jacob Reese (two counts); Owen Lee Reeves (two counts/habitual); Timothy Shayne Satterwhite (two counts/enhanced/plus unlawful possession of a firearm by a felon); Kyle Smith (two counts plus tampering with evidence), and Reginald Weathers.

Jeremy King, whose original engaging in organized criminal activity indictment was dismissed on Feb. 28, was indicted for unlawful possession of a firearm by a felon (enhanced).

Roy James Covey was indicted for tampering with or fabricating physical evidence, and Richard Luther, was indicted for tampering with physical evidence