Limestone County: Sheriff takes reins of Texas Sheriff’s Association

Limestone County Sheriff Dennis Wilson. (Limestone County photo/file)
Limestone County Sheriff Dennis Wilson. (Limestone County photo/file)(KWTX)
Published: Jul. 26, 2016 at 12:14 PM CDT
Email this link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

Limestone County Sheriff Dennis Wilson will be installed as the president of the Sheriff’s Association of Texas Tuesday evening during a ceremony in Grand Prairie, where the association’s annual training conference is underway.

He succeeds Grimes County Sheriff Donald Sowell.

Wilson, a 1973 graduate of Groesbeck High School, joined the Sheriff’s Office in July 1975 and was first elected sheriff in November 2000.

He also earned an associate’s degree from Navarro College.

The association, which met for the first time in August 1874 at the Navarro County Courthouse in Corsicana, is one of the oldest law enforcement organizations in the country.

The first meeting was called to order by then McLennan County Sheriff Sul Ross, who

Ross, a Confederate veteran of the Civil War and one-term state senator, became the state’s 19th governor in 1887 and served two terms.

After he left office, he became president of what is now Texas A&M University, and is credited with saving the school from closure.

Ross is buried in Oakwood Cemetery in Waco.

Latest News

Latest News