Zoo, most school bond issues pass; 9 of 10 state amendments approved

courtesy: Cali4beach / Flickr / CC BY 2.0
courtesy: Cali4beach / Flickr / CC BY 2.0(KNOE)
Published: Nov. 4, 2019 at 6:27 PM CST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

Central Texas voters passed bond proposals for the Midway, West, Gatesville, Covington and Hillsboro ISDs and the Cameron Park Zoo and state voters approved nine of the 10 proposed constitutional amendments on the ballot Tuesday.

Bond proposals

Midway ISD

Midway ISD voters approved a proposed $148 million bond issue 65% to 35% Tuesday. Proceeds from the bond issue will pay for a new elementary school and the conversion of four existing schools to accommodate different student populations as well as for roof and HVAC replacement and renovations to the district’s technology center.

“I’d like to thank everyone in our community for showing their support of our students, staff and entire district through this election,” Superintendent George Kazanas said in a statement.

“I am so grateful to see the overwhelming approval we have from residents across our district. The process of creating this bond package was truly a community effort. We will work hard to deliver the community’s vision by building and renovating our facilities in a way that’s focused on student learning and sound financial practices.”

McLennan County

McLennan County voters approved a proposed $14.54 bond issue 66% to 34% Tuesday that will fund an expansion project at Waco’s Cameron Park Zoo that will include a habitat for endangered South African black-footed penguins, an education and veterinary complex, and renovations to the existing commissary and hoofstock barn.

West ISD

West ISD voters approved a proposed $21.485 million bond 59% to 41% Tuesday that will fund construction of a new elementary school.

The community of West set out to do something bold for our youngest learners,” the district said in a Facebook post Tuesday night.

“Now... we can celebrate the news that our Bond Election PASSED. This is truly a historic night in the life of our community! Thank you for voting! Thank you for supporting the need for a new elementary school!”

Gatesville ISD

The Gatesville ISD’s proposed $9.9 million bond issue was approved 63% to 37% It will fund additions and renovations to Gatesville High School.

Hamilton ISD

Hamilton ISD voters, however, said no to a proposed $24.8 million bond issue that would have funded a new elementary school, technology, safety and security upgrades and extracurricular upgrades.

The community has spoken,” Superintendent Clay Tarpley said in a Facebook post.

“It is not the message we had hoped for, but you have my pledge that Hamilton ISD will continue to provide a high-quality education for our students. Our facility challenges will not disappear, and the Board of Trustees and I will reconvene and come up with another plan to address our issues,” he said.

Hillsboro ISD

The Hillsboro ISD’s $29.84 million bond issue to fund construction of a new elementary school passed 63% to 37%.

Covington ISD

Covington ISD voters approved a $5.75 million bond issue to pay for safety and security improvements, athletic improvements and improvements to the district’s Ag Facility 70% to 30%.

Constitutional Amendments

With 96 percent of the state's counties reporting late Tuesday night, only one of the 10 proposed constitutional amendments was headed toward defeat.

Texas voters Tuesday rejected Prop. 1, which would have allowed a person to hold more than one office as municipal judge at a time, but approved the other nine proposed amendments including the controversial Prop. 4, which bans a state income tax.

The amendment that generated the most support, however, was Prop. 10, which allows for the transfer of a law enforcement animal to a qualified caretaker in certain circumstances, most likely the animal’s law enforcement handler.

City council and school board races


Bruceville-Eddy voters decided a mayor’s race and two contested city council races.

Connally Bass defeated Gary Lucas in the mayor’s race.

Phil Reyna and Rick Eaton won two at large city council seats.

Ricky Wiggins defeated Alisha Bass in the race for an unexpired term on the council.

Chisholm Trail Special Utility District

Six people were running for three seats on the Board of Directors of the Chisholm Trail Special Utility District in Bell County.

The winners were John Fisher, Jeff Daniell and Ronald Dockery.

Copperas Cove

Copperas Cove voters decided four contested city council races.

Dan Yancey defeated Jayme Sigler and Dario Glenn Eubank in the race for the Pos. 3 seat.

Jay Manning defeated Benjamin Beck and Matthew Russell in Pos. 4.

Dianne Yoho Campbell defeated Gary Kent in the race for the Pos. 5 seat.

And Jack Smith defeated Theresa “Terri” Deans in a race to complete the unexpired term of Pos. 7 Councilman Charlie Youngs, who resigned from the council on Aug. 25.

Copperas Cove ISD voters decided one contested school board race.

Jeff Gorres defeated Harry Byrd by 3 votes in the race for the Pl. 5 school board seat.


Voters in Evant voted 71% to 29% in favor of a beer and wine sales proposition.


Gatesville voters decided one contested city council race.

Robert Michael Kent defeated Dennis M. Fueston in the race for the Ward 1 Pl. 1 seat on the Gatesville City Council.

In addition to the $9.9 million bond issue proposal, Gatesville ISD voters also decided a three-way race for two seats on the Gatesville School Board.

Cheyenne Kizer and Mary Anne Leib were the winners.


Gholson voters decided three contested city council races.

Ron McCartney defeated Claudette Michael (Shell) Williams Gaither in the race for the Pl. 2 seat.

Billy Sparks defeated Thomas Wiley for the Pl. 3 seat.

And Tom Buzbee defeated Zack McFarland in the race for the Pl. 4 seat.


Moody voters elected a mayor and decided two contested city council races.

Charleen Dowell defeated Tina Eaton in the mayor’s race.

Josh Richter, Karla Alton and Jennifer Houghton won three at large city council seats.

And John Carpenter defeated Ken Brown in the race to complete an unexpired council term.

Moody ISD voters decided a four-way race for three at large school board seats.

The winners were Justin Foster, Misty Cummings Smith and Lacey Flynn.


Nolanville voters decided one contested city council race.

David C. Williams III defeated Patrick L. Ramsdell in the race for the Pl. 4 council seat.

Riesel ISD

Riesel ISD voters decided one contested school board race.

Ben Saage and Ruth Ann Schroeder won the two at large seats on the Riesel School Board.

Robinson ISD

Robinson ISD voters decided one contested race.

Jeff Strain defeated Wesley Gilbreath in the race for the Pl. 4 school board seat.