22 Baylor football players named Academic All-Conference

WACO, Texas A program-best 22 Baylor football student-athletes were honored by the Big 12 Conference as 2018 Academic All-Conference selections, it was announced today by the conference office.
13 of those 22 honorees were first team selections, boasting GPAs of 3.20 or better. Those 13 first team selections tie a program-high that was previously set in 2014.
Leading the way for the Bears on the first team is junior wide receiver Marques Jones, who is just one of 11 in the conference to earn a 4.00 GPA. He was named to the first team for the second-straight season.
In addition to Jones, other first team selections include Terrell Bernard (first time), Blake Blackmar (third straight), Kyle Boyd (second straight), Zeke Brown (first time), Koby Bullard (first time), Tyler Henderson (first time), Chad Kelly (second straight), Patrick Lawrence (third time), Chris Lutzel (third straight), Ryan Miller (first time), Russell Morrison (first time) and Jalen Pitre (first time).
There were also nine Bears that were named second-team honorees, having GPAs between 3.0 and 3.19.
Over the past two seasons, 41 Bears have earned Academic All-Conference honors, the best in program history for a two-year span.
In total, 287 Bears have earned Academic All-Big 12 selections since the league’s inception in 1996. The Bears have placed at least five on the first team in each of the last 14 seasons.
To qualify, student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 20 percent of their team’s scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence.
Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.

Baylor 2018 Academic All-Big 12 First Team Honorees
Terrell Bernard, LB So. Health/Kinesiology/Leisure Studies
Blake Blackmar, OL Sr. Supply Chain Management and Information Systems
Kyle Boyd, FB Sr. Management
Zeke Brown, CB Jr. Electrical and Computer Engineering
Koby Bullard, FB Sr. Management
Tyler Henderson, TE Jr. Pre-Business
Marques Jones, WR Sr. Electrical and Computer Engineering
Chad Kelly, LB Jr. Finance
Patrick Lawrence, OL Sr. Supply Chain Management and Information Systems
Chris Lutzel, LS Sr. Management, Entrepreneurship and Corporate Innovation
Ryan Miller, OL So. Pre-Business
Russell Morrison, WR Jr. Risk Management and Insurance
Jalen Pitre, LB Jr. Pre-Business

Second Team Honorees
Harrison Hand, CB So. Health/Kinesiology/Leisure Studies
JaMycal Hasty, RB Gr. Undecided
Henry Klinge, OL So. Pre-Business
James Lockhart, DE Sr. Health/Kinesiology/Leisure Studies
James Lynch, DE So. Undecided
Rob Saulin, DT So. Communication
Sam Tecklenburg, OL Sr. Sociology
Derrek Thomas, CB Sr. Masters Sports Pedagogy
Verkedric Vaughns, S Gr. Undecided