Mulkey among four finalists for Naismith Women’s Coach of the Year

Published: Mar. 21, 2019 at 5:20 PM CDT
Email this link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

Baylor head coach Kim Mulkey, along with three other coaches, made the short list Thursday as a finalist for the 2019 Werner Ladder Naismith Women’s Coach of the Year Award.

The Atlanta Tipoff Club announced Mulkey along with Iowa’s Lisa Bluder, North Carolina State’s Wes Moore and Mississippi State’s Vic Schaefer as finalists.

Mulkey has the Lady Bears as the No. 1 overall seed in the upcoming NCAA Women’s Basketball Tournament. In her 19th season, she helped guide BU to its 10th regular-season Big 12 Championship, its 10th Big 12 Championship Tournament win, a No. 1 AP & WBCA ranking beginning Jan. 28, and the nation’s longest win streak at 23 games.

If she were to win, it would be the sixth national coach of the year award she’s acquired in her time at Baylor. In 2011, she was named the USBWA National Coach of the Year, and in 2012, she picked up four such honors from the WBCA, Associated Press, USBWA and the Naismith Coach of the Year.

Beginning tomorrow, fans will be able to support their favorite finalist by visiting until April 3 to cast their ballot. The fan vote will account for five percent of the overall final vote. The 2019 Werner Ladder Naismith Women’s College Coach of the Year will be announced on April 6, and the winner will be honored at their school at a later date.

Latest News

Latest News