Witten and Johnson headline Texas Sports Hall of Fame Class of 2019

Published: Mar. 30, 2019 at 10:46 PM CDT
Email this link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

It was a packed house at the Texas Sports Hall of Fame Saturday evening as fans lined up to meet the Class of 2019 inductees.

Cowboys tight end Jason Witten and Houston Texans legend Andre Johnson headlined a class of seven athletes with Texas ties.

Jason Witten was the only athlete currently on a roster. Witten said that he is just happy to be included with other great athletes.

"I just think more than anything I just have so much respect for Texas sports as a whole," said Witten, an 11-time pro-bowl selection. "I don't know that any other state can compete like this state does."

Johnson was also humbled by the selection. The seven-time pro-bowler is the first Houston Texans player to be inducted into the Texas Sports Hall of Fame. He says he's happy to represent the Texans, an organization that he helped grow into a playoff contender.

"When I first got down there (Houston) it really didn't feel like a lot of people respected us," said Johnson.

"I always tell people this story, the first pro-bowl I went to...when you take your pictures, they would call you in order. In order of the teams. And when they announced the Houston Texans, I remember a guy saying 'Who in the hell is here from the Houston Texans?'"

Other inductees include:

Texas A&M and New England Patriots kicker, Tony Franklin. Franklin becomes the first kicker elected into the Hall of Fame.

Former Olympian and Dallas Furry player, Nancy Lieberman joins a stacked class.

University of Texas pitcher and World Series Champion, Greg Swindell

Longview native and Arkansas Razorback All-American, Loyd Phillips.

Maureen Connolly Brinker was posthumously inducted. The Wimbledon and French Open champion became the sixth tennis player inducted.

Latest News

Latest News