News 10 anchor to receive statewide honor

Taina Maya. (Staff photo)
By  | 

(KWTX) News 10 morning anchor Taina Maya will receive a Woman of Distinction Award later this month from the Texas Association of Mexican American Chambers of Commerce.

“Year after year we are proud and honored to recognize and celebrate the outstanding successes and contributions of endurance, excellence and tenacity that women make to our Hispanic communities, state and nation,” said Pauline E. Anton the association’s president and CEO.

“We look forward to inducting these women into the TAMACC Women of Distinction,” she said.

Maya is one of 12 women to be honored during the association’s Women of Distinction Award’s luncheon on March 29 in Austin.

“Our ‘Women of Distinction’ program and the recognition of very accomplished women is one of the most notable. The recipients this year and of past years are truly an inspiration,” said Samuel Guzman, TAMACC chairman.

We are grateful for the recipients to share their stories; it is incredibly motivational and inspirational. It is the encouragement for us all to do more.”

2019 Women of Distinction

Taina Maya , Morning News Anchor, KWTX News 10
Minerva Abrego-Sanchez , Associate, Andrade-Van de Putte & Associates, San Antonio
Mary Lupe Arana , Vice President of Operations, GFP Group, LLC, Corpus Christi
Dr. Barbara Baggerly-Hinojosa , Chief Executive Officer, Leadership Empowerment Group, Mercedes
Estela Casas , News Anchor, KVIA TV, El Paso
Honorable Dori Contreras , Chief Justice, 13th Court of Appeals of Texas, Edinburg and Corpus Christi
Dr. Diane N. De Hoyos , Assistant Vice President for Purchasing and General Services, The University of Texas at El Paso, El Paso
Lizette Diaz , Founder and Publisher, Solo Mujeres Magazine, Houston
Sheila Morataya , Founder and President, Sheila Morataya Enterprises, Round Rock
Monica Moreno , President, The Job Connection, Inc., El Paso
Jessica Robledo , Chief of Police, City of Pflugerville, Pflugerville
Honorable Gisela D. Triana , Justice, 3rd Court of Appeals of Texas, Austin